Thursday, April 28, 2016

Auction time again!

Hand Papermaking’s 18th Annual Online Auction is well underway, and there are still some good bargains. See the lineup at

To place your bids, click on "Items for Sale" at

Among the 55 offerings, take note of the studio opportunities in Italy and Maryland which are still open to bids well below their value. Tim Barrett's limited editions, and the Douglass Morse Howell items are also a great bargain. There are several pieces of studio equipment, including an unused Nepalese su. And there are large full sheets of gorgeous papers unavailable elsewhere.

Want to help but can't decide what to bid on? A paper-related artifact or souvenir might display nicely in your home or studio. Consider historical ephemera, or small handbound books if you're tight on space. How about a lovely little shifu artwork or perhaps a framed print?

The gavel falls this Saturday at 2:00pm Pacific / 5:00pm Eastern / 9:00pm GMT.

100% of proceeds benefit Hand Papermaking's non-profit activities. Thanks for your ongoing support, and please spread the word!

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

New banner for my Etsy shop

I made a new banner today to emphasize the direction I am going with my work. I am not just making plantable paper products (say that ten times fast) but also my notecards featuring whimsical figures made from my original pressed flower art designs!

I played around with various fonts and designs and finally settled on this one as my final banner:

I am a little sad to say goodbye to the banner I have had for years, with the clever little catch phrase that I love: handmade paper for all seasons and for all reasons. But the changes in the Etsy shop design have come at the perfect time for me, when I have also changed direction, or just put more emphasis on many directions that I have been heading. So it's exciting to freshen things up and embrace where I am going. Another new chapter!